jump to navigation

Fixing XServer After Hardy Updates April 15, 2008

Posted by askgel in Hardware, Linux, xserver.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Since I loaded Hardy into my system a month ago, it has been my routine job to fix xserver after nearly every updates. After many desperate attempts to fix the things, I’ve found a way to fix it. I don’t claim that whatever I’ve done should work for others but it is better to give it a try once rather than ending up with reinstalling Ubuntu. Here is what I do:

[ad]

  1. I always backup my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file to something like /etc/X11/xorg.conf.bckup
  2. When something is broken, I often find that my xorg.conf file has been modified. To find out whether there is any modification, I issue:
    stat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
  3. If there is any, I list the changes:
    diff /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.bckup -y –suppress-common-lines
  4. I then undo the modifications. Those who aren’t comfortable with command lines can try meld. It is a graphical frontend for diff command. It couldn’t be more easier to merge/remove changes in two versions of same file. It is in the Universe repository so you should get it by issuing:
    sudo apt-get install meld
  5. After the modifications have been undone, I restart Hardy. Most of the time I get my xserver fixed with everything working fine – color depth, screen resolution etc.
  6. If restarting the system does nothing other than greeting with that dialog box – Ubuntu is running in low graphics mode, then i try to reconfigure xserver by issuing:
    sudo dpkg reconfigure xserver-org
    It will ask you a couple of questions, clicking on default option will be OK
  7. After it gives a ‘successful’ message, time to restart. I can see the changes immediately – login screen spanning to my whole screen.
  8. I need to enable the drivers for my card by going to System>Administration>Hardware Drivers
  9. Finally, enabling my nvidia card, restarting once again and going to System>Preference>Screen Resolution to set the correct resolution, gives my pretty looking xserver back again.
  10. The next important task is to create the backup of my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file again.

[ad#adpb]

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

